Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

what are the chances to learn kitesurfing with slingshot fuel kites?

Forum for kitesurfers
gollum
Rare Poster
Kiting since: 2009
Weight: 85 kg
Style: absolute beginner style
Gear: i'm wondering if i should try learning with slingshot fuel 6, 9 and 13 and a RPM 9. and i will get myself a board at least 145 cm long
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

what are the chances to learn kitesurfing with slingshot fuel kites?

Postby gollum » Mon Aug 17, 2020 3:43 pm

hi everybody.

i have three slingshot fuel kites (6, 9 and 13) and a slingshot RPM 9 and i am wondering how my chances are, to learn kitesurfing with them.

i did two kitesurf courses some time ago. one was around 2009 and then another one around 2015. then i tried one day in egypt and one in the baltic see last year. i was able to ride in both directions (with beginners gear!) and i think i even managed to turn both ways. i'm also not too bad in wakeboarding.
some (lets say it was three) years ago, a friend sold me his kites and all the stuff (besides a board) for more or less no money so i didnt really check what they were. when i wanted to use them last year, another friend told me that they were quite the opposite to beginners kites and gave me his for that day.
now i will go to a supposedly nice beginners spot for one week to finally get going. i wonder if it makes sense to try with these kites first or if it will be a waste of time because it is just not possible for a beginner to get along with these kites. (i know that i could just try and that some people might succed, but what about the average guy?)if you tell me that there only is a small chance to succeed, instead of renting the gear again, i would buy a 'normal' kite instead beforehand. but i try to avoid that.

what do you think / recommend?

i also dont have a board yet but i will see that i will get a long and wide beginners board at least 145 cm long.

thank you very much!
cheers
gollum