Local Beach: Ocean City MD
Favorite Beaches: Ocean City MD
Style: NA
Gear: NA
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0

Total Newb

Postby pdiii » Mon Aug 17, 2020 5:01 pm

Alright.. here goes nothing.. I live in Maryland/ USA and I recently watched a guy kitesurf in Ocean City. I am going to purchase equipment shortly.. Couple of questions -

1- is there some upper limit with wind where you could get pulled up in to the sky and blown away?
2- if you crash in the water, can relaunch the kite in the water or do you need to swim to shore and relaunch there
3- should I go for a large kite first - I am thinking maybe a 17? or should I target something smaller. I am 225 pounds..
These users thanked the author pdiii for the post:
Matteo V (Mon Aug 17, 2020 6:13 pm)
Rating: 8.33%

Exal
Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2019
Weight: 85
Local Beach: Still looking
Favorite Beaches: WA & Cape Town
Style: Wave & Oldschool
Gear: all the gear and no idea

Re: Total Newb

Postby Exal » Mon Aug 17, 2020 6:10 pm

If you have no buddies that know the sport then you need to find a school and get some lessons before buying that gear. It is hard to get lifted up in the sky but very easy to mess up, fly over land and into obstacles, with your head. (Without proper instructions)

madworld
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Never never land
Style: Cruising
Gear: Rich peoples throw aways.

Postby madworld » Mon Aug 17, 2020 6:20 pm

Do not buy anything, take professional lessons, then you will be safe and know what to buy.

appelton
Rare Poster
Weight: 190lbs
Local Beach: Belmont Shore / CA
Gear: Still looking for gear.

Postby appelton » Mon Aug 17, 2020 6:22 pm

Don't make the mistake of buying gear before having your first lessons. Go learn to the point where you feel comfortable with your kite and then buy gear.

rileyjamesb
Rare Poster
Local Beach: Martha's Vineyard
Gear: None yet
Been thanked: 0

Postby rileyjamesb » Mon Aug 17, 2020 9:34 pm

pdiii wrote:
Mon Aug 17, 2020 5:01 pm