Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

How to dislocate and bruise ribs with a harness?

Forum for kitesurfers
BrunoC
Medium Poster
Local Beach: OBX
Style: Freeride
Gear: various
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

How to dislocate and bruise ribs with a harness?

Postby BrunoC » Mon Oct 05, 2020 12:26 pm

There seems to be quite a bit of chatter recently here and on Facebook groups centered around folks looking for solutions to bruised ribs. I’ve been riding for almost 7 years and usually ride hard, overpowered and try and boost to the moon but up until a month ago I never had any major issues with dislocating and bruising ribs.

In my case I was overpowered in gusty conditions and just as I sent kite to jump it flew into a huge gust, ripped the harness up my body and twisted the spreader bar into my rib. I’ve read most of the seat vs waist threads but didn’t see too much on spreader bar stability...will the same thing happen in a seat harness that I described, just lower?

Are most folks who are damaging their ribs, doing it while riding or when slamming? Kinda curious the mechanics of how this happens.

FLandOBX
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Hatteras Island, North Carolina, USA
Central Florida, USA
Style: Freestyle, Airstyle, Hydrofoil
Gear: Cabrinha Apollo, FS Speed 4, FS Soul, Pansh Aurora II, Axis Ltd, RRD Poison, SS Ankle Biter, SS Hoverglide

Re: How to dislocate and bruise ribs with a harness?

Postby FLandOBX » Mon Oct 05, 2020 12:59 pm

BrunoC wrote:
Mon Oct 05, 2020 12:26 pm
....ripped the harness up my body and twisted the spreader bar into my rib..... will the same thing happen in a seat harness that I described, just lower?.....
Sorry to hear about your injury, BrunoC. Sounds painful.