Rare Poster
Kiting since: 2020
Weight: 165lbs
Local Beach: Cape Hatteras
Gear: 10m Slingshot Rpm 2018
Brand Affiliation: None

Beginner: Kite choice for light wind conditions

Postby whoschrisellington » Fri Mar 26, 2021 7:39 pm

Keep in mind I’m a beginner. I’ve had a few lessons, and on my last lesson I finally got up on the board and went for a short ride. The only kite I have is a 2018 10m Slingshot RPM with a 20” compstick sentinel bar and 20m lines (with 3m extensions).

I’m looking at getting a light wind kite that also may be a little easier for me to ride as I get my kite skills better. Right now I’m looking at a 2019 13m Slingshot Turbine (13m is all i can afford) and a 2020 14m North Orbit kite. I was not happy sitting on the beach while everyone else got their light wind kites out and I couldn’t.

I’m 170 lbs, extremely fit, and kite out in Hatteras NC. What do you all think? I just need some guidance.

beebad
Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2016
Weight: 173
Local Beach: Mayo, Rehobeth bay, dewey bch,OBX
Favorite Beaches: North flats, outlaws-South Padre Island, Waves, Salvo, kitepoint, the washout, tower rd. Assateaque.
Style: Freeride
Gear: 7m, 9m, 12m Cabrinha Switchblades, 15 Contra, Cabrinha 144 Spectrum, 137 ACE, Litewave Dave WING 155, Ugo, GP6B, slingshot hoverglide nf2 foil-35",15"24" masts, slingshot dwarfcraft 54" foilboard. Slingwing 5.4V2., quatro drifter 5’6”.

Re: Beginner: Kite choice for light wind conditions

Postby beebad » Fri Mar 26, 2021 9:52 pm

Keep what gear you have.
Living in obx, you will use a light wind kite like maybe today or tomorrow, but not sunday. So stick with one brand so the bars can be used.

Think long term.