Shredmaster General
Rare Poster
Kiting since: 2020
Gear: Slingshot
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

Sizing 6m or 7m Naish Pivot (or 7m RPM)

Postby Shredmaster General » Fri Apr 09, 2021 9:21 am

Is 6m Naish Pivot too big a gap from 9m Slingshot Rally GT? I hear the Pivot is pretty powerful and people often size down, but haven't been able to find the wind range anywhere on line.

I'm 85kg beginner/intermediate looking for a 6m or 7m freeride kite. I'm into general freeriding, jumping and dabbling in waves. I'm progressing pretty well but I'm still pretty new to it all and am still only on a twin tip. I have a 9m Slingshot Rally GT and want something smaller. Slingshot says the range of this is 14-26 knots. I've been ok in a few knots stronger than this...maybe 28 knots or so. I found a good deal on a 6m Pivot (2020). Alternatively, I also found a deal on a 7m RPM (2019). I know it's a totally different kite but seems like it is still pretty versatile and good fun. So these are my top two options at the moment. Would be interested to hear an opinion from someone who knows these kites, whether either of these would work for me or I should keep looking. Cheers!

leeuwen
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2014
Local Beach: Anything in NL
Style: Foiling around
Gear: KauperXT 11M Falcon
Ocean Rodeo aluula roam 10m / HL Crave 8m/6m/5m
Slingshot ghost 4M
Sabfoil 1350L,633,699,671/ 83-103 kraken mast / Groove Skate L + Radical / Sabfoil T35 / Microchip
Lieuwe Shotgun

Re: Sizing 6m or 7m Naish Pivot (or 7m RPM)

Postby leeuwen » Fri Apr 09, 2021 4:29 pm

Depends a bit on wat you are looking for.
I would say at your weight a 6m is good for a wave board but not for jumping/riding on a twintip.
You probably need 30+ to not struggle to get upwind on a regular sized board.
Personally I think a beginner should not be out in 30+
Even small mistakes can mess you up, having a smaller sized kite might give a false sense of security/safety.