Kiting since: 2010
Weight: 75
Gear: Nobile 555, RRD religion 8m
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Kit to progress to bigger jumps

Postby Taraskin » Thu Jun 17, 2021 3:38 pm

Hello! I'm looking for suggestions for kite and board for me to progress to bigger jumps. I've been kiting on and off since 2010. Recently i've started learning to jump and can now do about 2-3 meters in a decently controlled manner and land nicely. Can do higher but control is lost then..(edit control is lost due to my own lack of skill not the kit obviously). A friend of mine suggested that my kit is not really appropriate for the task at hand. I've got an old 130 nobile 555 and an rrd religion 8m. I am generally of the opinion that a skilled person will be able to jump high with any kite, so learning the intricacies IS the most important thing, but at the same time maybe its good to do that on kit that will not cap my progression and help the learning process. So basically there are two questions:

1) Which kites should I look at that will help me shift gears in my jumping?
2) Which boards should I look at?

Seeing as kit is bought for some time, I'd like to get something that is a bit more advanced than I need at the moment in order to grow into it. I am 75kg if that makes any difference.

Thanks

Taraskin

leeuwen
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2014
Local Beach: Anything in NL
Style: Foiling around
Gear: KauperXT 11M Falcon
Ocean Rodeo aluula roam 10m / HL Crave 8m/6m/5m
Slingshot ghost 4M
Sabfoil 1350L,633,699,671/ 83-103 kraken mast / Groove Skate L + Radical / Sabfoil T35 / Microchip
Lieuwe Shotgun

Re: Kit to progress to bigger jumps

Postby leeuwen » Thu Jun 17, 2021 8:44 pm

You are correct that skill is most important but a “sheet and go” kite will help compared to your current wave kite for sure. Also hangtime Will improve.

1) Any high aspect kite will help. If you just want to jump as high as possible and don’t care about any other performance.