Weight: 90
Style: Into Big Air RN
Gear: RPM
Misfit
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

The easiest Big Air kite

Postby SP2021 » Thu Jul 22, 2021 1:43 pm

Hi, I'm looking for easy kite to have fun in jumping. Nothing extreme, 15-30knt conditions (no more in my area).
And what sizes do you recommend for 90kg? 10 and 14 or 9 and 12?
I have heard that XR7 is the best choice, but super expensive, is it worth a go? I was thinking about Raptor SS 21, Pivot 21 or Orbit 21 (i can have them around 25% cheaper than XR7).
Important thing is that i am still learning, so i dont want my kite to roll over after crash ( backstalling?).
Thank you for any help. :thumb:

Toby
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2000
Weight: 95 kg
Local Beach: Cumbuco, Brazil
Barra do Cauipe, Brazil
Favorite Beaches: same
Style: Airstyle
Gear: Rebel 2015 18
Brand Affiliation: None.

Re: The easiest Big Air kite

Postby Toby » Thu Jul 22, 2021 2:32 pm

You have weight, so a 12 in 15 knots is pretty small, specially if you aim at jumping…power is needed!

I advise to go for 14-10.
These users thanked the author Toby for the post:
SP2021 (Thu Jul 22, 2021 2:53 pm)
Rating: 3.03%

elmarco
Medium Poster

Postby elmarco » Thu Jul 22, 2021 2:47 pm

the big air kites are fun, but beginners will hindenberg them easier when crashing a jump(fly behind you, slack line and fall out of the sky)
That being said, check out Kitemana and the Airush Lift (Airush's big air kite), for whatever reason Kitemana (ships globally) seems to have Airush cheaper than everywhere else.
But if you want a kite a little easier to fly, check out the Airush Session, Core Nexus or North Reach. All great kites, but a little friendlier for beginners and you can still goto the moon.
These users thanked the author elmarco for the post (total 2):
SP2021 (Thu Jul 22, 2021 2:53 pm) • Coloradokiter (Thu Jul 22, 2021 3:28 pm)
Rating: 6.06%

edt
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2010
Local Beach: Michigan
Gear: ride hard, no regrets