Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Leading Edge bladder repair advise

Forum for kitesurfers
Saxy
Rare Poster
Kiting since: 2018
Weight: 180
Local Beach: Myrtle Beach. South Carolina
Favorite Beaches: Grand Bahama Island. Dominican Republic, Cherry Grove Beach South Carolina
Style: Beginner
Gear: Cabrinha Kites and Slingshot Board
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

Leading Edge bladder repair advise

Postby Saxy » Tue Sep 07, 2021 2:44 pm

Hello all,

I have 11M Cabrinha Switchblade with a ruptured bladder. I am a beginner so this kite will be beat up a lot so I don't want to put a lot of money into it unless I have to. I have done repairs on my other kites such as fixing small holes and valve replacement with good success using Tear-Aid and Aquaseal. I have not tried to make a repair like this before. The bladder is ruptured a couple of inches from the end of the bladder. The biggest problem I see is the tear extends to right to the edge where the end of the bladder wraps back on itself for reinforcement.

I think trying use Tear-aid is going to be difficult as it will be hard to get the bladder to lay flat and not have wrinkles. Since the tear extends out past the edge of the kite would it be possible to just seal the bladder just above the tear and shorten the bladder by a few inches since it folds back on itself at the end of the leading edge anyway? I know I may have to stuff some material in at the end of the leading edges to fill in any gaps?

Please let me know your thoughts.

Thanks,

Attachments
kite 3.jpg
kite 2.jpg
kite 1.jpg

Flyingseb
Medium Poster
Kiting since: 1999
Local Beach: La Torche, France
Style: Jumps, curves, speed
Gear: North Dyno, Naish Draft, Cabrinha Apollo, Fone Trax Board, OR mako board, DIY boards, hydrofoil

Re: Leading Edge bladder repair advise

Postby Flyingseb » Tue Sep 07, 2021 8:13 pm

Hello Saxie,

I’ve repaired 2 kites with the same problem, on both bladder ends…