Forum for kitesurfers
Kitego
Rare Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

2021 Ozone Contact Water V4 bar depower issue

Postby Kitego » Sat Sep 11, 2021 10:07 pm

Hi,
I've been kitting since 2012 and this is the first time I have an issue with a an above the bar depower.
It's a brand new 2021 Ozone Contact water V4 bar that I bought a few months ago and tried it on four different sessions in winds between 12 to 18 Knots with a 12m kite.

The problem is it very hard (need a lot of force) to pull on the depower trim grab handle independent of it's position, locked in or not. In fact, my fingers "snap" off the handle every time I try to grab it. I need to completely stop in the water to trim the bar and then go riding again.
The shop where I bought the bar says it's me the problem but I have owned different bars before from other brands in the past and I was always able to trim the bar while riding, it didn't need that much force to pull the trim rope.
Is it possible because the Ozone bar does not have a pulley that would make it harder to pull the trim rope?

P.S.: I'm a 6'2" 200 lbs guy that goes to the gym 4x a week so I'm quite strong.

gibsonandpickett
Frequent Poster
Has thanked: 0

Re: 2021 Ozone Contact Water V4 bar depower issue

Postby gibsonandpickett » Sat Sep 11, 2021 11:53 pm

It is quite hard to do. I think the handle needs to be bigger, it would make it considerably easier to use. Pull it outwards then pull down.
These users thanked the author gibsonandpickett for the post:
iriejohn (Mon Sep 13, 2021 10:39 am)
Rating: 6.67%

Kitego
Rare Poster

Postby Kitego » Sun Sep 12, 2021 2:11 am

gibsonandpickett wrote:
Sat Sep 11, 2021 11:53 pm
It is quite hard to do. I think the handle needs to be bigger, it would make it considerably easier to use. Pull it outwards then pull down.
Yeah, I tried that but even you need to pull very hard and it is difficult while riding.

Jelle_vw
Medium Poster
Kiting since: 2008
Weight: 76