Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

How can I attach a stopperball in front line?

Here you can exchange your experience and datas about your home build boards
evan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 466
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 5:48 pm
Kiting since: 2002
Local Beach: Brouwersdam
Style: Hydrofoil - Big Air
Gear: Moses Comet 111 2018
Peter Lynn Aero
Brand Affiliation: Infexion
Peter Lynn
Moses
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 32 times
Contact:

Re: How can I attach a stopperball in front line?

Postby evan » Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:14 am

Ah, you meant the stopper at the bracket. Not the stopper Ozone uses 7m up the flagout line to prevent the bar from shooting all the way up to the kite. In that case forget my post.

Easiest is to buy those:
https://ozonekites.net/proddetail.asp?p ... opper_ball
https://ozonekites.net/proddetail.asp?p ... er_bracket

Make sure you use 3mm dyneema for the flagout bungee that goes through the bar as the Ozone stopper ball relies on a thick enough rope to not get pulled through the tiny hole in the nylon stopper ball.

Don't use the Naish/F-One brackets that don't use a stopper. The direct contact of the flying line with the brackets chews up your line in no time.


Extra line like in A3 is only used by brands that have a wrongly designed chickenloop (north/duotone) where the flagout hole through the QR is too small to fit the loop-loop connection, jamming everything.

kite_hh
Frequent Poster
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 5:33 pm
Kiting since: 9
Gear: Cabrinha, North, own
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: How can I attach a stopperball in front line?

Postby kite_hh » Tue Feb 05, 2019 1:00 pm

Well, I made the "bracket part"(second link) myself with a shackle and a pulley. So no need to order that. And a stopper ball is also already in my possession. :-)

I still like A3 because of the simplicity. Two equal power lines, a dedicated safety line, no loop connection for anything to get stuck on, no constant load on any part of the safety, no load on any plastic ball, it just seems like the best of two worlds.

Only challenge is to attach the safety on the powerline. I guess some splicing similar to this should do the trick? ( )

User avatar
edt
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 5576
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:27 am
Kiting since: 2010
Local Beach: Michigan
Gear: slingshot liquid force wainman pansh naish duotone cwb burton ronix rpm ozone
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Re: How can I attach a stopperball in front line?

Postby edt » Tue Feb 05, 2019 1:47 pm

That splice is fine. Let us know how it works!

I wouldn't do it that way just because you are using s lot more line and line is expensive

ap888
Frequent Poster
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 2:24 am
Kiting since: 2007
Local Beach: Zion/K peir/Inver/Goderich
Favorite Beaches: Good wind/Flat water/Good waves
Style: Foil/Loops/Big Air/Strapless
Gear: Ozone Uno V2 4m
North Neo (17) 5m
Cabrinha Drifter (16) 8m
Flysurfer Sonic 2 -11m
Moses
BWS Stallion 5’
CrazyFly Shox Custom 135
Groove Skate
Ride Engine
Brand Affiliation: HFL
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: How can I attach a stopperball in front line?

Postby ap888 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:55 pm

At the same stage also... going to use this method...will stop at black divider...don’t see anything wrong with it...will flag all the way to the kite which no big deal as long as it flags out....have never pulled QR since 2007 won’t be butt hurt if the lines get tangled and have to swim in :thumb:
Attachments
CA1E34D1-8E4D-41B0-97C8-3C6160CCB2A5.jpeg
20795BAA-21FD-4EEF-94DD-867682ADB6E2.jpeg

User avatar
edt
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 5576
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:27 am
Kiting since: 2010
Local Beach: Michigan
Gear: slingshot liquid force wainman pansh naish duotone cwb burton ronix rpm ozone
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Re: How can I attach a stopperball in front line?

Postby edt » Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:56 pm

You do realize that to safely flag out a single center line kite, you need the length of the flagout line to be the width of the kite or higher. So for instance, a 7m kite requires about 4 meters of flagging while a 20 meter kite requires about 10 meters of flagging. If the line only goes to the control bar that means you will have to be running a "High Y" system where that steel brace is about 10 meters up the lines. Or you can run your flagout line not inside the hole in the control bar but outside it this means you can't spin the bar freely as it will tangle your flag out line.

ap888
Frequent Poster
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 2:24 am
Kiting since: 2007
Local Beach: Zion/K peir/Inver/Goderich
Favorite Beaches: Good wind/Flat water/Good waves
Style: Foil/Loops/Big Air/Strapless
Gear: Ozone Uno V2 4m
North Neo (17) 5m
Cabrinha Drifter (16) 8m
Flysurfer Sonic 2 -11m
Moses
BWS Stallion 5’
CrazyFly Shox Custom 135
Groove Skate
Ride Engine
Brand Affiliation: HFL
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: How can I attach a stopperball in front line?

Postby ap888 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:16 pm

Yeah just thinking now not going to flag out enough well better do A3 or something else

User avatar
Laughingman
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 2958
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:35 pm
Kiting since: 2009
Local Beach: Kettle Point, Mitchell's Bay, Rondeau Bay
Favorite Beaches: Kettle Point, Mitchell's Bay, Rondeau Bay, Long Bay, Cayo Guillermo, La Ventana
Gear: Ocean Rodeo Gen6 Flites 10m, 12m Gen2 Roams 6m and 8m, Cloud D 4.8, 6.2, 8.0, 10.4
Xeon Laluz, Mako Wide 150, Jellyfish Custom surf board quad fin 6', LF Impulse Foil and Kanaha Shapes 37" board
Engine Harness with slider
Location: Southwestern Ontario
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: How can I attach a stopperball in front line?

Postby Laughingman » Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:33 pm

ap888 wrote:
Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:16 pm
Yeah just thinking now not going to flag out enough well better do A3 or something else
Yah thats not gonna work to well, good news is all you need is the stopper ball and your done!

on second thought. actually that line is sheathed... you will likely not be able to use a sheathed line to pull through the stopper ball
These users thanked the author Laughingman for the post:
jaros (Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:36 pm)
Rating: 10%

User avatar
edt
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 5576
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:27 am
Kiting since: 2010
Local Beach: Michigan
Gear: slingshot liquid force wainman pansh naish duotone cwb burton ronix rpm ozone
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Re: How can I attach a stopperball in front line?

Postby edt » Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:55 pm

ozone sells the bracket here:

https://ozonekites.net/proddetail.asp?p ... er_bracket

if you want to use their bracket.

stopper ball here

https://ozonekites.net/proddetail.asp?p ... opper_ball

ap888
Frequent Poster
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 2:24 am
Kiting since: 2007
Local Beach: Zion/K peir/Inver/Goderich
Favorite Beaches: Good wind/Flat water/Good waves
Style: Foil/Loops/Big Air/Strapless
Gear: Ozone Uno V2 4m
North Neo (17) 5m
Cabrinha Drifter (16) 8m
Flysurfer Sonic 2 -11m
Moses
BWS Stallion 5’
CrazyFly Shox Custom 135
Groove Skate
Ride Engine
Brand Affiliation: HFL
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: How can I attach a stopperball in front line?

Postby ap888 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:32 pm

Yeah thanks have that ordered already for my bigger carbon bar...but have an idea... have the line connected with splice both sides of ring then attach flag line to the ring :?:
Attachments
7C9E6275-4CAD-4422-A257-8B6D73EC1237.jpeg

User avatar
edt
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 5576
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:27 am
Kiting since: 2010
Local Beach: Michigan
Gear: slingshot liquid force wainman pansh naish duotone cwb burton ronix rpm ozone
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Re: How can I attach a stopperball in front line?

Postby edt » Wed Feb 13, 2019 12:20 am

You can do something like that the problem is when you make this high Y you end up not having lines with equal length. It's very nice to have all your control bars using lines that are all equal in length. It means you can make a spare line set ahead of time, and the no matter which control bar has lines wearing out you can go ahead and swamp in the new lines immediately. If you end up having a bunch of lines where the line lengths are all different you can't swap in new lines like that. I assume you are going to use the double O ring system, with a single center flagging line with a high Y. That's a system that slingshot used around 2014-2016 I can't remember the exact year.


Return to “Gear Builders”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests