Favorite Beaches: Gorge, any RI beach, PR
Style: Foils
Gear: Delta Hydrofoil
Brand Affiliation: I am head of Delta Hydrofoil
Has thanked: 0

Delta Hydrofoil

Postby ghradil » Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:41 pm

Hello All,

There have been a couple of posts asking about Delta Hydrofoil, so I would like to introduce my self and let you know what I am doing with Delta. I have been foiling for about 5 years, I started with a Carafino and then moved on to a Spotz. About a year ago I decided that there was a need for a race capable foil that is made in the USA, since sourcing race foils from France is somewhat inconvenient. I have a PhD in engineering and I have been making things with my hands all my life, so I got to work.

Since last year I have gone through 4 prototype revisions including the tapered strut that was in the pictures from the East Coast Championships. The most recent revision has a more conventional strut design. I have been working with Jon Modica and he has been extremely generous in encouraging my enterprise and in providing feedback on the performance of the prototypes.

My initial design concern was in reducing drag, I have now transitioned to making improvements in stability. My goal is to make a foil that is both extremely fast and easy (relative term) to ride. The foil should be competitive against the Sword and Spotz and yet you should still be able to learn on it. I think at this point we are pretty close to achieving this. I have sold a small number of foils so far, and I have built these myself. The construction is 100% carbon, using closed mold construction. I am now transitioning production to a carbon composite fabrication company in Rhode Island that will be able to make 5 per week.