Style: HF,
Gear: Naish Draft, Cabrinha Apollo, Airush Ultra, Storm Voyager, Gong strutless
LFSolo
Moses HF.
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0

Controlling sword hight when riding.

Postby Wielandt » Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:27 am

As an absolute KHF beginner I would like some advice about how to control how low or deep I keep the sword in the water when riding along !

I Foil in the Baltic and are blessed with wawes or chop, soo I have to compensate all the time.

Jesper, Nysted, Denmark

FrederikS
Frequent Poster

Re: Controlling sword hight when riding.

Postby FrederikS » Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:41 am

Keep the weight in the same place and get a feeling for how much weight goes on what leg. Controlling ride height is about controlling stance and speed primarily, kite position also changes stuff but I find that less of an effect.

Tone
Very Frequent Poster

Postby Tone » Tue Jun 30, 2015 8:59 am

Straighten your back leg to bring the nose down.

Nielshm
Rare Poster
Gear: Hydrofoil
Been thanked: 0

Postby Nielshm » Tue Jun 30, 2015 12:43 pm

It is my experience that you should do the exact opposite that on the TT. You control the pitch of the board by moving your body or legs in a controlled way. On the TT the waves would move you and you would adapt to this.
Try and take more rigid position where your joints (knees, hips etc) would make small controlled movements to keep the pitch. All movements with resistance. Dont stand up tall, you loose the flexibility. I found the position similar to halfway sitting on a toilet being just right.

Denisesewa
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: SPI
Style: Freeride Hydrofoil , Surf
Gear: Cloud quiver, LP foil, MHL foil, DIY foils , Many boards

Postby Denisesewa » Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:41 pm