Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

2014 MHL Lift - feedback on race wings vs freeride wings?

A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders
mikesids
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Pt Chev, Auckland
Favorite Beaches: Aitutaki lagoon, Cook Islands
Style: Foil, surf, speed, jumping, freestyle
Gear: F One Furtives / FS Souls for speed, Airush Ultra's for freeride foiling , Chrono UL for freerace foiling, Parks, Bandit and Union for all round, JShapes / Levitaz / Spitfire XLW foil, F One AC21 Speed boards, Groove Skate
Brand Affiliation: None

2014 MHL Lift - feedback on race wings vs freeride wings?

Postby mikesids » Mon Dec 21, 2015 12:50 pm

Hi,
I have been foiling for a few months now ( 2014 MHL Lift with freeride wings) , have some questions. I am 6'2 and weigh 80kg, have used kites from 14m down to 7m with the foil so far. I kite in NZ.

I was out during the last weekend on an 8m , another guy was out on a 7m edge on his Spotz 2 board and foil - he is a freerider with more experience than me , but not a racer. While travelling off the wind I noticed that my board was rising and falling quite a bit whereas the other guy was smoking along far faster than me but able to maintain a very stable foiling height at this higher speed.

My questions are:

- in higher wind strengths do you need less wing area / lift? ie was my board potentially "over-winged"
- can anyone who has used both please comment on the relative speed vs stability of the MHL freeride wings vs the MHL race wings - preferably the 2014 versions?