Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Which foil kite size to add to my LEI kite quiver to foil?

A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders
Bletti
Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2000
Gear: Slingshot Rally 10m
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Which foil kite size to add to my LEI kite quiver to foil?

Postby Bletti » Thu Dec 24, 2015 2:16 am

I just picked up a used Spotz 2 foil and I am just learning how to foil. I have 5m Element4, 7m Nitro4, 9m Element4, 10m Nitro4, and 18m Helium LEI kites from Switch. I was considering getting a 12m or 15m Pansh A15 foil kite to give me a bit better low end than my 10m without going to my massive 18m which I hear is too big to affectively foil on. Should I go with the 12m (or 15m) Pansh A15 or do you think that it's a bad kite for hydrofoiling? Also would you go with 22m or 25m lines? They have a sale till New Years so I could get a foil and bar and lines for 500 USD.

Peter_Frank
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 0

Re: Which foil kite size to add to my LEI kite quiver to foi

Postby Peter_Frank » Thu Dec 24, 2015 2:54 am

Impossible to answer, not knowing your weight, and are you aiming at racing ?
I would say, if lighter than 80-85kg, go with the 15m2 max, if around that or heavier, the 18m2, if you want to go fast :thumb:

Regarding line lengths, forget about 22m and go for 25 or longer :wink:

8) PF

Mossy 757
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2013
Local Beach: First Landing State Park, Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Style: Kitefoil
Gear: Delta Hydrofoil and board. Cabrinha Velocity 9m, Flysurfer Sonic2 11m, Ozone R1V2 15m

Postby Mossy 757 » Thu Dec 24, 2015 4:44 am

I wouldn't buy a new kite until your foil skills are up to par, then decide whats missing based on where your existing quiver misses the mark.

My biggest kite is an elf 15m and i cant imagine needing more except for a race where every bit counts downwind.