Gear: NRG 6,8,10,12,14
Ozone 17
Straplees directional, airush sector, spleen directional and spotz 2 foil
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Which inflatable do you find best for Hydro foiloing

Postby windwatcher » Tue Sep 20, 2016 5:15 pm

Hi Guys, I just started hydro foiling and I'm not super happy with my NRGs preform in lighter wind for foiling. I'm on an inland lake so the wind is up and down. When it's down they tend to back stall and fold(Lots of pushing the bar out). I know gusty conditions aren't idea for foiling. So what your favorite inflatable for light wind foiling or just plain foiling? Thanks

tmcfarla
Frequent Poster

Re: Which inflatable do you find best for Hydro foiloing

Postby tmcfarla » Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:23 pm

I'm a beginner on hydrofoil, maybe 15-20 days on the water, a little bit of toe-side riding and occasionally can stay on the foil through turns. The kites I have are Best TS 7m and 9m, Best Cabo 6m, and BRM Cloud (c2) 9m and 12m. Because these are different sizes, a true comparison doesn't really work, but I'll try. For under-powered, the cloud is really wonderful, probably the best feeling I've ever had on a kite. The drift and speed of turns is just amazing, it is the only kite I have that delivers that feeling of perfect weightlessness on a foil. However, I dislike being over-powered on clouds, as the kite really wants to go to 9 o'clock instead of staying at 11/1. I'm also not crazy about their relaunch- it usually works great but sometime it takes a long time. Best Cabo is really nice at the higher end of its range, and its low-end is also impressive, all in all a really nice kite and very easy to use, but can't speak for larger sizes. When conditions are just right, the cloud is more fun, but the Cabo is so convenient and user-friendly. The TS can be fun, but I don't use it on a foil much because the low-end is really bad and drift isn't great. I do like how it keeps power in turns the way the others don't.