Local Beach: EE
Favorite Beaches: NZ
Style: Terrain riding
Gear: Old wornout ozone.
Plummet hydrofoil and mutant
Brand Affiliation: None

The stagnant foiler.

Postby plummet » Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:45 pm

Well I've been foiling for almost 2 years. The first 6 months allowed for reasonable progression as I was out most weeks.
Then a job/career change meant I wasn't able to kite mid week anymore. So I became a weekend warrior.
Splitting sessions foil and mutant on the weekend depending on conditions meant I might not foil for weeks at a time.
Over winter when the wind and weekend didn't line up there could be weeks at a time with no kiting at all and maybe foiling every 6-8 weeks.

As a result of the lack of water time, I'm forever consigned to the same skill level. I spend a most of the session getting back to where i was last session.
Then I don't progress any further. I'm constantly stuck in just being able to sometimes foil gybe and most of the time having to surface gybe.

I'm thinking if you want to be good this foiling game is for guys who can get out often and invest a lot of time practicing.
For the part-time occasional foiler progression is very difficult.

gbrungra
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Stinky's, San Diego, CA, USA, and Nantucket, MA, USA
Gear: Griffin 17m TRX 2014, Cabrihna 12m Vector 2014, TTs, Camet 160 and SS Hoverglide

Re: The stagnant foiler.

Postby gbrungra » Sun Sep 30, 2018 3:05 am

I’m in a similar situation. Except can’t foil gybe. Only occasional surface gybes. Not enough time on the water.

I’m hoping a Surf sized foil wing (slower, more stable) will be my ticket for progression...

tswierkocki
Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2001
Style: Hydrofoil, Surf, Freeriding
Gear: 3m, 4m, 5m, 8m Flysurfer Peak 4 kites
7m, 10m Cabrinha Apollo kites
Cloud F28 surf foil
107cm Kanaha pocket board for kite foiling
4’8” Stretch Trow surfboard
133 Axis Vanguard twintip

Postby tswierkocki » Sun Sep 30, 2018 3:31 am