Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Slingshot NF2 Foil - Beginner

A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders
adamj2281
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2009
Local Beach: Charleston, SC - Folly Beach
Favorite Beaches: Folly Beach, Wrightsville Beach, Playa Avellanas, Barker's, GC, East End, St. Croix,VI
Style: Surf mostly, some freeride
Gear: Ocean Rodeo Roam 7,12
Ocean Rodeo Crave 9
5'2" North Whip CSC
5'4" Tomo Hydroshort
Nobile 2HD
Slingshot H4 Batwing foil
Brand Affiliation: Ocean Rodeo

Slingshot NF2 Foil - Beginner

Postby adamj2281 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:13 am

I've been kiting for 11 years, I'm fairly confident on a strapless surfboard, gybes, etc. no issues there. I've been debating jumping into foiling, but it's something new so that's the appeal. I've found a pretty good deal on a 4'8" Alien Air and 2018 SS NF2 foil with a 24" mast. I've read the H4 and H2 are a bit better for learning, would it be suitable to get up and learn on and then progress from there using the SS setup with new wings?

deniska
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Plumb Beach
Favorite Beaches: Cabarete
Gear: FS, Core
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: Slingshot NF2 Foil - Beginner

Postby deniska » Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:58 am

Alien Air and NF2 was my learning setup.. pretty easy to learn, imho, so you won't be disappointed.
I have no experience with H4/H2 wings but they look like they would be slower, than NF2, which for me sort of ruins the fun..
don't get fixated on 24'' mast, you'll need 35'' one in a few hours...
Once you spend a year with NF2, you'll probably want proper carbon rig.. one of the moses setups, re-branded by SS.
while you on NF2, make sure you lubricate all screws with tefgel religiously..

Foil
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2000
Weight: 91kg
Local Beach: New Brighton near Liverpool. Open sea with big low tide deep lagoon
and regular at Rhosneigr and Newbrough on Anglesey
Favorite Beaches: New Brighton, Rhosneigr, Fleetwood, Newbrough, Blackrock sands