Weight: 200 lb
Local Beach: Miami beach
Style: foil
Gear: airush
Brand Affiliation: None

boxer looping

Postby dkazhdan » Mon May 27, 2019 3:07 am

hi
wondering if its anyone else's experience that boxers generate too much power in the loops?
i am a beginner learning transitions on a foil and find that I can't control the surge when I loop my 8m boxer. it literally throws me off the board.

Trying to make those loops tight doesn't seem to help much.

interestingly my other 2 kites ( 6m sst and 12m gong) loop just fine.

jakemoore
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2003
Gear: More wing than kite

Re: boxer looping

Postby jakemoore » Mon May 27, 2019 3:22 am

One of the things I love about the Boxer is how it makes power as it flies through he window.

You might try over-sheeting it a bit so the loop is stalled out. You could also ride downwind more.
These users thanked the author jakemoore for the post:
dkazhdan (Mon May 27, 2019 3:36 am)
Rating: 3.03%

cglazier
Very Frequent Poster
Gear: Naish, Flysurfer, Alpine, Moses

Postby cglazier » Mon May 27, 2019 5:04 am

And turn your bar harder to start the loop. This makes the loop tighter and generates less power.
In light wind I start my downloop after my footswitch but before I have begun turning my board downwind.
Timing is important.. if you are going straight downwind when the kite loops you will get very little power.

I downloop my Boxer 12m all the time.

:-) CG
These users thanked the author cglazier for the post:
dkazhdan (Mon May 27, 2019 3:13 pm)

Peter_Frank
Very Frequent Poster

Postby Peter_Frank » Mon May 27, 2019 6:52 am

If this kite has good depower, and I reckon it has if flying very forward in the window as tests say, I would embrace this feature that it has loads of power when looped :thumb:

You dont ever need to downloop the kite, at least not when turning or jibing, so if too much power use upsweeps here instead where only YOU control how much power you get.