Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Grzybowo, Kołobrzeg, Polish Baltic Coast
Favorite Beaches: Polish Baltic Beach
Style: foilboarding
Gear: Flysurfer Souls, Moses Hydrofoil, BraCuru Boards
Brand Affiliation: Moses HF

Control system by Bracuru

Postby BraCuru » Sat Jul 06, 2019 8:05 am

Sharing some ideas of control system for advanced riders. Only for advanced ones.

Intro.
I've been experimenting with control systems since 2010.
Made more than dozen of unique systems without chicken loop.
I do not like a chicken loop as it is a design for windsurfers. I do not like hooks at all - it damages the boards, knees and does not allow to lay down on a board while swimming back to a shore or doing the superman.
Present systems are expensive as each bar requires to have a chicken loop, swivel, quick release, trimming, stopper.
As a foiler I need something simpler. I do not unhook at all.
I believe that the systems for foilers would go into direction where trimming will be included in a harness.
Especially for foilers using RAM kites with short lines.

I ride Flysurfer Soul 15 and 8m and noticed that using them with shorter lines caused that I do not touch a trimmer (depower) anymore.
Soul15 with works well:
- in a range of 6-20kts with 18m long lines
- in a range 8-25kts with 12m lines
- in a range 10-30kts with 9m lines.

Conclusion for lines below 18m - a reduction of 1 m lines' length is almost like a reduction of 1 square meter of the kite's area.
A wind range of Soul15 with lines 12m is like Soul 10m (with 18m lines). Soul15 with 9m lines is like a Soul8 with 18m lines. Ish...

Above stirred my mind. Why should I need a trimmer then?
For riding in normal winds I do not need it at all.
However in very gusting winds it might be needed for a safety reason.
Then next question appeared. Why should I have a trimmer on kite lines if i can shift a trimmer to a harness?