Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Peak Foil

A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders
OzBungy
Very Frequent Poster

Peak Foil

Postby OzBungy » Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:23 am

I am wondering if we have reached "peak foil" in terms of design. Have foils got as good as they're going to get?

All the leading racers are riding Mike's Lab or Chubanga. It seems the main factor in winning is whether the rider makes a mistake or not. I wouldn't be surprised if some of the manufacturer team riders are using Mike's Lab with their sponsor's stickers.

I have been using my favourite foil for nearly three years. The more I use it the more I like it. I can't see anything new coming out that would let me do anything different to what I do now. My progression is more linked to how I approach things. The gear is not an issue.

Zeeko brought out the Spitfire a while ago. That didn't really spark much of a revolution. Oyvind has the wing connected direct to the mast. No fuselage or stabiliser. That could be interesting to see where that goes.

The SUP and surf foilers are having a bit of a revolution with huge high aspect wings. It won't take long for that to sort itself out.

The wind foilers are still scratching their heads and still thinking that foiling is a scary dangerous, expensive thing that will only work in light wind (just like kiteboarding).

The only area of development that seems to continue is efforts to make aluminium masts that don't corrode too fast, and plate mounts that can be slotted on without an engineering team.

Pemba
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2002
Local Beach: Murrebue
Gear: Eleveight FS, Shinn Bronq
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: Peak Foil

Postby Pemba » Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:41 am

I'm kind of amazed that you still need a screwdriver (or similar) to connect to the board. A lot of development potential there. Not very important maybe but should be relatively easy.

slowboat
Very Frequent Poster
Style: wave foiling
Gear: This and that