Kiting since: 2016
Weight: 200 lb
Local Beach: Miami beach
Style: foil
Gear: airush
Brand Affiliation: None

small front wing

Postby dkazhdan » Tue Feb 25, 2020 1:33 am

I have been foiling for about a year and always have been under the impression than the bigger the wing is the smaller the kite you can use.
I normally ride a huge 1200 sq cm wing and recently I took my friend's levitaz element foil for a test ride.

It's pretty much counter-intuitive but riding a small wing (680sq cm) generates so much apparent wind that I almost instantly got overpowered using the same kite in identical wind conditions.

Which brings up a question, that apart from the obvious fact that you instantly pop up on the foil when using big wings, what are the other benefits?

The way I kind of see it now is that small wings move faster, create less drag and require smaller kites, but people still seem to gravitate towards surf size foils.

I'm relatively new to foiling so I wonder if anyone shares the same experience?

regards
Last edited by dkazhdan on Tue Feb 25, 2020 8:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

grigorib
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2009
Local Beach: OBX; Clinton Lake, IL; Lake Michigan; La Ventana; SPI; Hood River; Tawas, MI
Gear: Kites: Slingshot Rally 5/7/9/11m, Turbine 9m, SST 4/5/7m, UFO 9m, Flysurfer Speed4 10m standard, Peter Lynn Venom II ARC 16m

Boards: Spleene RIP 37, Flysurfer Radical6 138, Flysurfer Flydoor5 XL, Slingshot/Moses 80/82/91/101cm masts with 800/425 695/425 637/420 wingsets, 36" Woody, Slingshot Dwarfcraft Micro 3'6" 2019-2020, MBS Comp 95x

For sale: Moses 80cm alu mast $260

Re: small front wing

Postby grigorib » Tue Feb 25, 2020 4:29 am

I’d say profile thickness makes more difference in speed than wing area. Large wings tend to be pretty thick, smaller one are way thinner. But the moment you try smaller thick wing you’ll feel it being slow.
Well, that’s speed-wise.