shimming the foil question - moses

A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders
Frankieboy
Very Frequent Poster
Brand Affiliation: None

shimming the foil question - moses

Postby Frankieboy » Sun Mar 08, 2020 10:48 pm

Hi Guys,

I am new to Moses and use the 633 on a 82cm mast with the surf fuselage and use a 450 stab (that I can also use for winging)
The problem is that it needs much too much front foot pressure. I will use a 330 also which is OK (did test it) but the 450 makes the balance different.
Si I need to "shim" it.

How do you best do that? Plastic stuff at the back screw of the stab OR at the back screw of the connection mast/fuselage????

Any experience ?

Thanks

Frank

rolfjoosten
Rare Poster
Local Beach: Christ Church
Favorite Beaches: Silver Rock Barbados - home
Style: Fun
Gear: Strapless Wave, Hydrofoil

Re: shimming the foil question - moses

Postby rolfjoosten » Mon Mar 09, 2020 1:20 am

Use a bit of credit card at the back under the stabilizer cut to fit the fuselage. This reduces the front foot pressure slightly.
I guess you ride strapless, if not try this as well as it lets you place your feet further forward.

alowishus
Medium Poster
Gear: ozone airush slingshot moses

Postby alowishus » Mon Mar 09, 2020 6:52 am

I've used a washer for the rear stab, and separately, a small piece of cut linoleum tile for the mast/fuselage connection.

Shimming the mast/fuselage "looks better" and is theoretically the best as you don't muck around with the foil as you are just shifting the weight forward.

You can apparently purchase custom made shims, but you could probably make them yourself if you have some time on your hands.

Foil
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2000
Local Beach: NewBrighton beach-Derby pool end,Wallasey, near Liverpool for 6 months in summer
Flag beach on fuerteventura for 6 months in winter.
Favorite Beaches: Flag beach fuerteventura, off season/6months
Home - NewBrighton,Rhosneigr, Ainsdale, Fleetwood, Newbrough
Style: improving foiler.