leeuwen
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2014
Local Beach: Anything in NL
Style: Foiling around
Gear: KauperXT 11M Falcon
Ocean Rodeo aluula roam 10m / HL Crave 8m/6m
Slingshot ghost 4M
Sabfoil 1350L,633,699,671/ 83-103 kraken mast / Groove Skate L + Radical / Sabfoil T35
Lieuwe Shotgun
Brand Affiliation: None

How to untangle a hydrofoil from a bar

Postby leeuwen » Sat Nov 14, 2020 4:06 pm

Hi,

I had a scary moment today where I got to much speed, crashed down on a wave and fell upwind from my hydrofoil. (I am still a beginner on the foil)
The hydrofoil decided to jump into my lines and got stuck between the centre lines and my left steering line, with the board on top of the lines mast beween the lines and foil down below.
Obviously that’s a bad situation. Luckily the pull wasn’t too bad and I managed to get it all sorted miraculously without even needing to use the safety.
However that got me thinking if people found some easy way to get out this situation.

I imagine that it might be convenient to unhook your bar from
the harness and keep the chicken loop in hand and then sort it?

I don’t hope to be in this situation ever again but a few tips would be nice in case it does happen.

purdyd
Very Frequent Poster

Re: How to untangle a hydrofoil from a bar

Postby purdyd » Sat Nov 14, 2020 4:22 pm

I find it easier to get the board out rather than the foil. Usually it is the board that goes into the lines so pull the board out. It will happen again.
These users thanked the author purdyd for the post:
leeuwen (Sat Nov 14, 2020 4:34 pm)
Rating: 3.03%

jakemoore
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2003
Gear: More wing than kite

Postby jakemoore » Sat Nov 14, 2020 8:02 pm

Advice to manipulate the board is good. I would add to stay calm and also to consider if your foil edges are unnecessarily sharp.