A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders
espana23
Medium Poster
Gear: NA
Brand Affiliation: None

Advise on using Cabrinha Drifter for light wind kite foiling

Postby espana23 » Sat Feb 20, 2021 11:57 am

Hi all,

I would like to get your advise on the below.

I have been kitesurfing since 2017 and have been using a TT ever since. My current kites are Switchblade 12m and 9m. I currently kitesurf when the wind is 16+ knots and would like to increase my number of days on the water by being able to kite when the wind is 11-15 knots. Kite foiling always looked appealing to me and would like to do that. I will be buying used equipment (board/foil and kite) no older than 3-4 years but would like to stick to the Cabrinha brand for the kite since I like the brand and also have the Overdrive X1 recoil bar that would like to use with the kite. I am considering the Drifter based on research I have done (I am aware of the new 1strut Contra but as I said I want to buy used equipment). For the wind range of 11-15 knots that I am interested, what size of the Drifter would you recommend (I weigh 76Kg/167lbs)? Also, my approach will be to learn to kite foil with my 9m Switchblade when the wind is 16-18 knots, and once I get comfortable on that, then start using the Drifter when the wind is 11-15 knots. Does this approach make sense, or is there a better way to do this?

Thanks.

-Mike

leeuwen
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2014
Local Beach: Anything in NL
Style: Foiling around
Gear: KauperXT 11M Falcon
Ocean Rodeo aluula roam 10m / HL Crave 8m/6m/5m
Slingshot ghost 4M
Sabfoil 1350L,633,699,671/ 83-103 kraken mast / Groove Skate L + Radical / Sabfoil T35 / Microchip
Lieuwe Shotgun

Re: Advise on using Cabrinha Drifter for light wind kite foiling

Postby leeuwen » Sat Feb 20, 2021 2:13 pm

Hi Mike,

If the bar is the reason to stick with cabrinha:
AFAIK it’s a standard low V bar that will work with most brands (skip duotone and core)