Style: Foil.
Gear: Flysurfer Peak 5: 4/5/6/8/11m
Kauper XT Falcon 11m
Dwarfcraft 110cm
Gong Curve, Pro stab fuse 85 carbon mast
Brand Affiliation: None

Foil but must be cheap

Postby ieism » Sat May 22, 2021 3:42 pm

Hi, I want to get into foiling this summer but do not have an unlimited budget. I saw a lot of guys on Gong foils last year and they seemed happy enough, and they sell sets that are in my price range.

My plan is to buy a foil and mast, and build the board from scratch or adapt an old surfboard. I have plenty of experience building the board, but not much selecting the wing. Second hand is not that interesting as people here want a lot of money for sets, and it won't be cheaper than buying from Hong.

I want to 'freeride' and do some turns and small waverides. I don't mind a bit of a steeper learning curve, but I'm not interested in speed.
I ride a surfboard now, with Peak 4 kites. I tend to ride in lighter wind, and weigh 78kg.

I was looking at the X-over foil, does that seem like a good idea to you?

matth
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Revere, Nahant, Chapin, West Dennis, Hardings , Kalmus, First Encounter, Dog, yerril, Wing
Favorite Beaches: Wing, West Dennis, Kalmus, Chapin, Revere, Nahant, Dog, Horse Neck, Good Harbor, Yerrill
Style: Freeride
Gear: 7m Slash, 10m Pivot, 10m Slash, 12m Pivot. Firewire Vadar, Duotone Profish, Crazyfly Raptor ltd

Re: Foil but must be cheap

Postby matth » Sat May 22, 2021 8:59 pm

I just bought a Cabrinha Varial med size for $599 US......I love it, super stable, planes up early very easy to progress or learn on.. it is on the heavy side but not a big issue, and it's very durable. normally $999
These users thanked the author matth for the post:
ieism (Sun May 23, 2021 6:21 am)
Rating: 3.03%

Flyboy
Very Frequent Poster

Postby Flyboy » Sun May 23, 2021 3:12 am

ieism wrote:
Sat May 22, 2021 3:42 pm