A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders
ieism
Medium Poster
Kiting since: 2018
Gear: Flysurfer Peak 4
Brand Affiliation: None

Relaunch kite or save foil first

Postby ieism » Mon Jun 28, 2021 5:25 pm

So Im a beginner on foil, and had my 3rd session today. Its going OK I can foil pretty reliable and go up and downwind but still crash, a lot.

Problem is, I ride a Peak 4 and although I can relaunch it that does take me a minute. At my favorite spot, there is a very strong current. By the time I would get my kite in the air again, my board could be completely gone. The current is as fast as a very brisk walk, and can be upwind sometimes.

Today I dropped the kite once while taking a fall, and released and swam after my board+foil first. The I reset the kite and swam back to the bar and managed to make it back. But it was not easy.

I have this with a surfboard to some extend, but the foil takes off with the current at an alarming pace. It's faster than I can swim once it gets going.

How do I solve this, I can't wear a leach because I'm still falling a lot and don't fancy being permanently attached to the thing yet... Its also kit easy to handle the foil board while trying yo reset the kite.

rnelias
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Praia da Bica, RJ, Brazil
Favorite Beaches: Arubinha, RJ
Cumbuco, CE
Barra da Tijuca, RJ
Praia da Bica, RJ
Style: freeride
Gear: Duotone Rebel 12m/9m, Dice 7m, Reo 8m, Alpha 8m, Soul 12m, Crazy Fly Raptor LTD 2019, Mystic Majestic

Re: Relaunch kite, or save foil first...

Postby rnelias » Mon Jun 28, 2021 5:34 pm

I usually leave a 3m of spare line rolled up in my strap's velcro just in case I need something to hold my board in place.

Why have you chosen a Peak 4 to learn hydroifoil? It would be a much easier task with a 3 or 1-struct LEI kites like Ultra or Alpha...

edt
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2010
Local Beach: Michigan
Gear: slingshot liquid force wainman pansh naish duotone cwb burton ronix ozone cabrinha north flysurfer