A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders
wavy navy
Medium Poster
Style: foil/wave
Gear: Slingshot
Brand Affiliation: None

tacking with foilkite - Hyperlink collapses

Postby wavy navy » Sun Jun 05, 2022 10:43 am

Hi, I am new to foilkites (Hyperlink 9sqm). I am quite good at tacking strapless foilboard. With inflatables I always sheet out completely at a certain point. When I do this with the hyperlink it collapses and falls from the sky. I understand that foilkites are different. What should I do while tacking to take care of the foilkite? Never sheet out completely a foilkite?

I tried this in very light wind.

leeuwen
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2014
Local Beach: Anything in NL
Style: Foiling around
Gear: KauperXT 11M Falcon
Ocean Rodeo aluula roam 10m / HL Crave 8m/6m
Slingshot ghost 4M
Sabfoil 1350L,633,699,671/ 83-103 kraken mast / Groove Skate L + Radical / Sabfoil T35
Lieuwe Shotgun

Re: tacking wth foilkite - Hyperlink collapses

Postby leeuwen » Sun Jun 05, 2022 11:09 am

Never had anything like that even when I was a newbie with the foilkite and tacks in sub 10 knots and I did all kinds of stupid things trying to figure out how to do tacks.
I am not a foilkite expert but I would *guess* something is wrong with that kite / bridle.

gmb13
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 1998
Local Beach: Flag Beach, Fuerteventura
Style: Everything
Gear: Indiana, Sailmon
Brand Affiliation: Indiana, Sailmon

Postby gmb13 » Sun Jun 05, 2022 12:26 pm

wavy navy wrote:
Sun Jun 05, 2022 10:43 am
Hi, I am new to foilkites (Hyperlink 9sqm). I am quite good at tacking strapless foilboard. With inflatables I always sheet out completely at a certain point. When I do this with the hyperlink it collapses and falls from the sky. I understand that foilkites are different. What should I do while tacking to take care of the foilkite? Never sheet out completely a foilkite?

I tried this in very light wind.
The Hyperlink should not be collapsing when you are sheetin out fully.