A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders
roQer
Medium Poster
Kiting since: 2010
Gear: Whatever
Brand Affiliation: None

How to learn to kitefoil in the waves

Postby roQer » Sun Aug 07, 2022 9:05 am

I’m a beginner kitefoiler who has right now the choice to seat on the beach watching other kitefoilers having fun or go out and fight the elements to eventually succeed and become one of them. The wind is marginal for riding a twintip even with a 15 m2 Soul. The foilers seems to have no problems with small kites like a 8 m2 UFO. I have full range of LEI kites from 7 to 15 m2 and 10 and 15 m2 Souls. I manage to do a waterstart in both directions and ride for about 30 m on the foil, this is far away from being in control though. The winds are 10-13 knots sideshore, I weigh 85 kg. The problem is I’m at the south French Atlantic coast with strong waves and currents. So how to become a kitefoiler in this conditions? Generally a no go and practice first in shallow waters? Give it a go and try to overcome the surf bodydragging out? What would be your advice?

leeuwen
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2014
Local Beach: Anything in NL
Style: Foiling around
Gear: KauperXT 11M Falcon
Ocean Rodeo aluula roam 10m / HL Crave 8m/6m/5m
Slingshot ghost 4M
Sabfoil 1350L,633,699,671/ 83-103 kraken mast / Groove Skate L + Radical / Sabfoil T35 / Microchip
Lieuwe Shotgun

Re: How to learn to kitefoil in the waves

Postby leeuwen » Sun Aug 07, 2022 2:54 pm

I would ask the locals how they learned.
I guess it depends a bit on how bad the waves and currents are. Here (NL) waves hugely depend on wind (so 12 knots for a few days would mean close to flat water behind the surf if there is any surf at all).
Currents depends on the tides here and you can find a moment where the currents suit you.
At least with side shore winds it should not be too hard to body drag out through the surf which is a royal pain with on shore.