Calling all SABFoil experts: Help me troubleshoot my foil setup

A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders
lifeinthehood
Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2021
Weight: 72 kg
Local Beach: Hood River
Style: Freeride
Gear: BRM Cloud 2.8/3.7/4.8/6.2. Ocean Rodeo A-Roam 8m. Cloud CCS. Kanaha Shapes 42"/MFC 1000/200/92cm. Slingshot Hopecraft/PFH657/325/102cm.
Brand Affiliation: None

Calling all SABFoil experts: Help me troubleshoot my foil setup

Postby lifeinthehood » Mon Feb 06, 2023 8:00 pm

I’m in Progreso, Mexico for the winter and the wind conditions are generally pretty good for kitefoiling. I’m still a beginner but started figuring it out in my first few sessions here. But started having some troubles in my last couple of sessions when I changed out my setup (I’ll explain why in a moment). I thought it would make it easier but it’s become harder and so I’m wondering what I got wrong.

My weight: 70-72 kg.
Wind conditions: prevailing ENE onto a N facing shoreline. 10-12 knots.
Water: 1-2 ft chop.
Kite: OR Roam 8m
Bar: Reedin Dreamstick X w/24m lines or Cloud CCS w/20 m lines.
Board: Kanaha Shapes 42”
Mast: Project Cedrus 90 cm.
Fuse: Stringy custom (basically a Sabfoil 710 with mast insertion moved forward about 1.5 inches)
Front wing/stab: started off with 633/483. I shimmed the 483 with a +1 degree shin to tame the lift. Had a lot of success. Can go to my left pretty easily. But because of the wind and shore setup, had to quickly work on going to my right. Finally had success in going to my right. It’s maybe 80% as comfortable as going to my left.

BUT, I spent a lot of time and energy getting back to my board because the setup floats on its side and doesn’t really drift downwind even with the chop pushing it. So, I also brought a 799, 679. For stabs, I also brought a 430 and 380. Got them because SABFoil says they are their most stable stabs.