For all foil kite riders
Kitemanmuc
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2015
Style: Big Air, Kiteloops, Hydrofoil, Wave
Gear: Eleveight

Trick to keep foil kite from stalling

Postby Kitemanmuc » Tue May 02, 2017 11:36 pm

Im new to foil kites and while I admit, both times I have been out with the kites, it was very low wind conditions, i cant seem to keep the kite from stalling at some point. I have however gotten really good at self rescue. Anyone have tips on how to keep a foil kite flying even in the lowest of wind. Pump kite i never have an issue, but foils is a new game.

overboard
Medium Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Trick to keep foil kite from stalling

Postby overboard » Wed May 03, 2017 8:43 am

If you mean back stalling then just grab the front lines and pull them in.

gmb13
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 1998
Local Beach: Flag Beach, Fuerteventura
Style: Everything
Gear: Indiana, Sailmon
Brand Affiliation: Indiana, Sailmon

Postby gmb13 » Wed May 03, 2017 9:06 am

If the kite is not new, you might want to check your lines and brildes. A lot of times the back lines (steering lines) are too short. Also the mixer/speed system might have shrunk which will make the kite very backstally.

If the kite is new, then you might be chocking the kite by pulling in the bar before the kite has time to accelerate and build up speed for apparent wind. So make a foil kite pull you in those super light wind sessions you need to let it fly, eg. push the bar forward to let the kite accelerate and "grab" the wind.

--
Gunnar

Kamikuza
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Sabae Beach
Favorite Beaches: Ol' Stinky
Gear: This, that, the other

Postby Kamikuza » Wed May 03, 2017 9:09 am

And trim it so you can't back stall it at the bar. Yes, "depower" the kite for light wind power ;)

socommk23
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Hill head
Favorite Beaches: Brean. Uphill. Pembrey. Hill head. Meon shore
Style: Keeping the kite dry....hopefully