Local Beach: Jones Beach, The Gorge
Favorite Beaches: La Ventana
Style: Hydrofoil
Gear: Flysurfer Soul, BRM Clouds, Moses
Brand Affiliation: None

New to Soul, Which Bar?

Postby PurdyKiter » Tue Apr 02, 2019 2:14 pm

Hello,
This week I ordered my first foil kite after 13 years of inflatables. I'm very excited about this. It is a 12m Flysurfer Soul. One of my questions is: Which is the most preferable bar & lines purchase for this foil kite? I've come to understand here on this forum that the FS Infinity3 might not be great. I've ordered the FS Infinity 2019 "upgrade" bar.... but I've only seen a crappy image and almost no information here on kiteforum. I've also checked around for a Core bar which with LEI kites I really like. I also have some older Naish below-the-bar depower bars stored in the garage.
But..... I'm new to this. Are there specific features I must include with a foil kite bar? More de-power? How about those steering line balls?
Thank You

foilholio
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Ventura Beach
Favorite Beaches: Tarifa
Style: Airstyle
Gear: Foils

Re: New to Soul, Which Bar?

Postby foilholio » Tue Apr 02, 2019 2:45 pm

Foils in general need more sheet/trim range and something nice to hold onto for relaunch like balls. Many bars can easily be altered to work better with foils.

elguapo
Very Frequent Poster
Favorite Beaches: pattaya
Gear: ..
Has thanked: 0

Postby elguapo » Tue Apr 02, 2019 4:23 pm

i've used a slingshot and then cabrinha and now enata bars(15m lines) without problem..
i prefer the 60cm carbon enata primarily because it is it much lighter than the slingshot(while also being 60cm)

i've used core and cabrinha bars on smaller souls (6m and 8m)
i prefer the core bar (very "clean" and lightweight)...
(core sensor2 does not appear popular here...but i use/like it for everything EXCEPT the 12m soul)

i use a rope slider...and i've only used the quick releases to attach to my harness.
i've yet to flag out a foil kite on the water