Medium Poster
Kiting since: 2004
Weight: 165 pounds
Local Beach: New Smyrna Beach, FL
Favorite Beaches: New Smyrna Beach, FL
Ponce Inlet
Apollo Beach
Style: Mostly twintip, starting foiling
Gear: Ozone Hyperlink V1 - 7m and 12m (2018)
Cabrinha Switchblade 14 (2017)
Pansh A15 - 15m
Switch x4 bar (2018)
Best Float 33 (2006), Cabrinha Prodigy 158 for light wind (2005)
Slingshot Alienair 2019 with Naish WS1 (2018)
Brand Affiliation: None

No information and lack of exposure

Postby CARMELHILL » Sat Apr 27, 2019 11:52 pm

This is going to be a little lengthy and all over the place...

I don't see any magazine exposure for foil kites and information is sparse. It drives me crazy. I looked through my last three mags and found one ad from Flysurfer. Not a single picture in the 3 mags of a kiter using a foil kite. Yet you check youtube videos and they seam to be everywhere, especially Miami and Tampa.

I've been kiting since 2004. Went from 2004 Cabrinha c kites (9,12,23) to 2006 Best bows (9, 14, 20), and in 2017 bought a Cabrinha Switchblade 14 after having problems with all my Best bladders finally falling apart. I love my Switchblade but I'm getting a little tired of the pumping and pack up. I kite on Long Island NY but travel to Lido Beach Florida in April and Cresecent Beach Florida in August. I'm VERY interested in a Ozone Hyperlink V2 to get started and maybe a higher aspect wing once I get going. This summer I'm going to give foilboarding a try with a 2018 Naish KS1 wing and Thrust wing with 40cm and 90 cm masts.