Kiting since: 2020
Local Beach: Mayflower beach
Gear: Foil kite
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

Foil Kite Newcomer

Postby marissas28 » Sun Jun 14, 2020 4:14 pm

Hi Everyone,

I’m very new to kiting but decided to learn to just fly the kite before taking lessons and getting in the water. I have a 4.5 m closed cell foil kite. I weigh about 60 kg and was wondering if anyone had suggestions for my safest wind conditions.

Also if anyone has recommendations for board size (63 inches tall) I’m not getting a board just yet but want to start looking to find the right price for when that day comes.

Thanks in advance!

Rein de Vries
Rare Poster
Local Beach: Rockanje - The Netherlands
Style: Free ride
Gear: Flysurfer Sonic, Ozone R1, Ocean Rodeo, Manta kite foil.

Re: Foil Kite Newcomer

Postby Rein de Vries » Sun Jun 14, 2020 5:10 pm

As a beginner I recommend starting with a 9-11 m2 in about 13-18 knots. Such a rather small kite requires quite some wind to get going at least on a TT, which could be dangerous. Id start in the ligther wind with an assistent to help launching.
These users thanked the author Rein de Vries for the post:
marissas28 (Mon Jun 15, 2020 3:58 am)
Rating: 8.33%

Breze
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Bavarian Lakes
Style: Freeride
Gear: Ram Air & Tubes, TT & Foil

Postby Breze » Sun Jun 14, 2020 5:41 pm

What kite is it?

slide
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Brancaster Norfolk 46 miles
Favorite Beaches: mablephorpe , cleephorpes
Style: landboarding with a work harness
Gear: old blades and old flysurfer's , ckb/dex carbon decks/and now 6/8/10/12 soul, 15 spd5

Postby slide » Sun Jun 14, 2020 7:41 pm