Ocean Rodeo Flite 12m
Flysurfer Speed5 9m

Nobile split board L
Flydoor XL
Liquid Force Comp 137
Brand Affiliation: None

Launching foils in tight spots

Postby Gyre » Tue Nov 17, 2020 3:49 pm

I've been using Flysurfers for about 10 years, but had a bad experience the other day at a spot I've never kited before. (It's a popular spot, known to be a bit tricky.) I was using my 9m Speed 5. Beach is narrow and there is a line of tall trees about 30 m behind it. Wind was about 20kts, fairly gusty, and directly onshore. Three times I tried and failed to launch. The kite just wouldn't stay forward enough in the window -- was drifting downwind, toward the trees, while it filled. I'd pre-inflated before launch, tried sheeting in when it rose to get it to inflate (that just pulled it closer to the trees).

No damage done, just really embarrassing.

Eventually I borrowed a friend's tube kite and got out no problem.

I've never launched in a spot with so little downwind space before, so I've never noticed this problem. The thing that bugs me is that I can't figure out what happened. Sometimes when I launch, my Flysurfers stand up nicely and fly FORWARD in the window and then straight up (which is great). Other times, this unpredictable drift.

Do I just have to accept that I shouldn't try launching my foils in spots with limited downwind space?

Jyoder
Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2015
Local Beach: Chesapeake Bay (Annapolis area)
Gear: Zeeko bullet Foil and DIY board
Has thanked: 0

Re: Launching foils in tight spots

Postby Jyoder » Tue Nov 17, 2020 4:21 pm

Did you really really pre-inflate? Do you know how to fly the kite on the pigtails at the kite with your hands until it is truly inflated?