Style: Freeride
Gear: Naish Pivot, Blade Trigger, Flysurfer Peak4 kites
RRD and Liquid Force boards
Slingshot Hydrofoil
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0

How short lines on 10m FS Soul (gen1)?

Postby MartinO » Mon Jul 25, 2022 8:58 am

I bought a Flysurfer Soul 10m about a year ago and since I am new with foil kites (been kiting with LEI:s only since 2001) I have only used it when I have a lot of room to launch. This means not at home for me, since all my home spots are very tight with trees and stones/rocks around you in the launch area. I now start to get better at doing controlled launches and I want to start using the Soul at my main home spot. To be able to do that I need to go as short as possible with lines. The 20m lines that I currently have basically doesn´t fit the spot, or atleast they make things VERY tricky since I cannot lay the lines out without having to climb over rocks and high thick grass and also have pass the lines through and over those rocks and the high grass to launch. It feels like only a matter of time before something goes really wrong. What´s your take on how short lines the Soul 10m can handle? I have a 10m lineset that I can try, but the spot is not really a place where you want to try things that turn out to not work since things can go very wrong very fast because of the close trees and rocks. I have been using LEI:s there for twenty years without issues, but with LEI:s I feel 100% comfortable and I know exactly what to do and not to do.

I have seen a guy on Youtube that uses 8m lines on a 6m Soul and that seems to work atleast. But I am guessing that the 10m will get stalled quite easily with shorter lines, but if it works, it will make it so much easier to launch the Soul in my home spot.

Anyone have some input?

Ice101
Very Frequent Poster
Gear: Free ride want to branch into strapless riding and more freestyle

Re: How short lines on 10m FS Soul (gen1)?

Postby Ice101 » Mon Jul 25, 2022 10:05 am