Favorite Beaches: Rhosneigr

Cayo guiermo
Style: Mixed
Gear: Mixed
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0

Off shore winds, yes or no?

Postby Flag53 » Thu Oct 01, 2020 6:33 pm

I’m just getting into Wing foiling after Kite foiling for four years and kiting for about 20.

My golden rule has always been been not to kite in Off shore or cross off shore winds unless there’s been rescue cover .

I’ve now got a board with plenty of volume ( 20L more than body weight ) which I’ve paddled easily against the wind ( in a safe lagoon ) and feel very safe on .

What are people’s opinions on going out Wing foiling in cross off shore winds when there’s no rescue cover .

Do you do it or not ????

I’m definitely considering it , although I hope my board leash never fails !

juandesooka
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2011
Local Beach: Sooke, BC, Canada
Style: Canada's Kai Lenny (in my mind)
Gear: Ocean Rodeo / Spitfire Foil / GoFoil / Ozone wings
Brand Affiliation: Open to offers

Re: Off shore winds, yes or no?

Postby juandesooka » Thu Oct 01, 2020 9:10 pm

haven't done it yet, but I will do it when opportunity arises -- especially if there's surf. I have only experienced winging in waves once when the wind angle meant the wng sits happily behind me, so much better! This was on a break where riding left meant effectively surfing it upwind.

I also won't kite in offshore or side-off winds unless there's a good downwind catchment. Paddling upwind with the wing shouldn't be a major issue, though caution in order: check that your leash string isn't frayed, leash is in good shape, don't have both board and wing attached to the same waist belt, etc. And don't wing farther than you could swim in a pinch.

Though I think I might hesitate in 30kt plus....things get pretty hairy with wing violently whipping around, would be hard to paddle against.

grigorib
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2009
Local Beach: OBX; Clinton Lake, IL; Lake Michigan; La Ventana; SPI; Hood River; Tawas, MI