Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Predict a Flurry of rotator cuff and related shoulder injuries associated with wing foiling

Forum for wing surfers
beebad
Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2016
Weight: 173
Local Beach: Mayo, Rehobeth bay, dewey bch,OBX
Favorite Beaches: North flats, outlaws-South Padre Island, Waves, Salvo, kitepoint, the washout, tower rd. Assateaque.
Style: Freeride
Gear: 7m, 9m, 12m Cabrinha Switchblades, 15 Contra, Cabrinha 144 Spectrum, 137 ACE, Litewave Dave WING 155, Ugo, GP6B, slingshot hoverglide nf2 foil-35",15"24" masts, slingshot dwarfcraft 54" foilboard. Slingwing 5.4V2., quatro drifter 5’6”.
Brand Affiliation: None

Predict a Flurry of rotator cuff and related shoulder injuries associated with wing foiling

Postby beebad » Wed Sep 29, 2021 12:56 am

I am very new to wing foiling but I recognize all too well the potential I see for shoulder injury having been a white water kayaker.

You were cautioned not to flex your elbow above your shoulder like when doing eskimo rolls or bracing…perfect recipe for injury.

I felt the familiar strain positioning the kite in the wind and realized a harness might be indicated for those who need to guard their delicate shoulders.

Anyone here have these concerns?
These users thanked the author beebad for the post:
consumer (Wed Sep 29, 2021 1:33 pm)
Rating: 3.03%

consumer
Very Frequent Poster

Re: Predict a Flurry of rotator cuff and related shoulder injuries associated with wing foiling

Postby consumer » Wed Sep 29, 2021 1:32 pm

anecdotally, I am seeing many people with pre-existing shoulder issues complain that winging exacerbates their pain. I have had a few stress tests of my previous repair while winging, too, but so far doing great.

You are probably right - winging puts more load on our arms than kiting ever did, and full arm extension makes you more vulnerable to injury. I don't know how it compares to windsurfing, which is also a sport where you are not harnessed some of the time.