Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2005
Weight: 200 lbs
Gear: stuff
Brand Affiliation: None

aerogel in foil boards

Postby jkrug » Wed May 11, 2022 12:25 pm

i came across this when searching for highly buoyant materials:

"Now, scientists have created a new type of aerogel that is inspired by the feet of the water strider. The material is reportedly so buoyant, that a boat made from one pound (454 grams) of it could carry about 1,000 pounds (454 kg) of cargo." that quote from a 2012 article.

i wonder why this material couldn't be used within a foil board. imagine a 1 pound board (plus external materials) floating us with ease. no more large volume wing boards necessary. any techies out there know of this substance and why it couldn't be used in our application? i'm not a techie and so there may be a very simple reason why...but curious...costs, dangerous material, etc.

BWD
Very Frequent Poster

Re: aerogel in foil boards

Postby BWD » Wed May 11, 2022 1:42 pm

Aerogel is very light, very brittle, not very strong, or very cheap. Maybe it could be used somehow? I don’t know.
If you somehow saved 2 kg out of a 5kg 100L board, you might be able to decrease the volume by what, 2L to have the equivalent buoyancy?
But keep in mind, this will change the board shape and some of that area and volume is serving hydrodynamic needs as well as hydrostatic (buoyancy) ones. Probably these changes would be advantageous, to a point.
There is a point of diminishing returns somewhere, but I would love to be able to have a 3-4kg 100L board, instead of 5-6kg!

evan
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2002
Local Beach: Brouwersdam
Style: Hydrofoil - Big Air
Gear: Infexion bars
Brand Affiliation: Infexion

Postby evan » Wed May 11, 2022 5:49 pm

You know those boards you can pump up? They are filled with a material that's even lighter than aerogel: just plain air.