Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Light Wind (10-15 knots) Gear

Forum for wing surfers
JakeFarley
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2001
Weight: 92kg
Local Beach: Florida Left Coast, USA
Favorite Beaches: Any that are not crowded.
Style: Dinosaur style (Velociraptor)
Gear: Kites: Flysurfer Speed5 21m, Soul 12m, Cabrinha 16m Xbow, 11m Xbow, Best 14m HP Nemesis, 9m Yarga C Hybrid
Boards: Crazyfly 135 x 46 Pro, Cabrinha Spoiler 140, 6' custom surfboard, 122 x 46 custom twintip
Wing foil: Naish Hover 110l, Slingwing 6.4m, F-One CWC Strike 8m, Slingshot Hover Glide Fwing (Infinity 99), Slingshot Phantasm 926 and E 990
Brand Affiliation: None

Light Wind (10-15 knots) Gear

Postby JakeFarley » Wed Jul 13, 2022 5:28 pm

At my location the wind is usually 10-15 knots. I am a beginner with only 8 sessions. I am 92kg and 6'-2" tall. I have a 110l board, 6.4m wing and a 2376 cm2 foil. Yesterday I was out and I was struggling a bit to get up riding on the foil except when the wind gusted close to 15 knots but I could not stay up when the gust dropped. My question is whether with my current gear I am expecting too much for my experience level (lack of pumping technique)? Should I invest in a larger wing such as a 7.5m or 8.0m? Or will I get better with experience and not need a 7.5/8.0m wing? Thanks in advance for your feedback.

joekitetime
Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 1999
Weight: 160
Local Beach: Sherman Island, SF BAY CA
Style: Surf Foiler
Gear: Appletree, FONE, Mike's Lab, Peak4, Mystic, Wainman Hawaii

Re: Light Wind (10-15 knots) Gear

Postby joekitetime » Wed Jul 13, 2022 5:58 pm

Hard to say. You could invest in a bigger wing. What I normally suggest to folks at my location is to buy a peak4 kite. When the wind is light, I'd say 6mph absolute lowest up to where I can wing without too much work.

Using a kite with the wing is a great way to practice and is the cheapest way to get on foil without having to work for it.