Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Small board + big foil success!

Forum for wing surfers
Jyoder
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2015
Local Beach: Chesapeake Bay (Annapolis area)
Gear: Zeeko bullet Foil and DIY board
Brand Affiliation: None

Small board + big foil success!

Postby Jyoder » Wed Nov 09, 2022 5:04 pm

I’m two sessions in to using my newly built 40L sinker wingboard pared with Moses W1100/450/82cm mast. I have some moderate experience stinkbug starting 80 and 60L boards so I knew the technique but had to build some muscle memory on the new 60x23x2.75in 40L board.

What I have found is that with thick wetsuit and pfd, and large foil underneath, the board hardly sinks more than a few inches beneath the surface and if I’m quick, I can start in chest deep water (I’m 6’2” tall and 165#/75kg) The small profile lets it pierce through waves and chop as I’m standing up and starting to get forward speed and it is remarkably stable. Aggressive rocker doesn’t seem to be an issue and only helps in chop. Big foil wing starts flying as soon as I get a few pumps going.

Session 1: 20-30knots overpowers on 4m Echo.
Session 2: 12-18knots just right on 5m Echo.

By session 2 I had dialed all foot switches, tacks and gybes on new board, and find it much easier to pump and carve on swell for my longest rides to date, even in mediocre wind swell. I find the big w1100 foil is actually pretty playful and can ride pretty fast when I push it. Great for mushy conditions.

Overall impression is the 40L plus big foil is much easier than I thought it’d be, doesn’t need super deep water, doesn’t need super strong wind, and makes all aspects of riding so much better. It’s much easier to stinkbug start than the 60L and even 80L boards, perhaps due to less corky buoyancy and perhaps due to more practice and skill.

Board is a cut down surfboard blank, covered in 6oz CF, 1mm paulownia veneer, and 4oz fiberglass, 1 reinforcement patch under plate. 9 lbs with deck pad.