Local Beach: Hardangervidda plateou
Style: Noob
Gear: 2014 Kahoona V6+ 12m
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

HQ montana 9 for beginners?

Postby NilsF » Fri Jun 03, 2016 3:39 pm

Hey all, just joined the forum as I am new to the sport ")
I bought myself a used kite (2014 kahoona v6+ 12m) to get started after completing a course, I can't say that was an immediate success :o
I may have unlucky with my kite weekends, as the wind has mostly been on 4-5 m/s which is to little to get any fun out of it. Occasionly it has been 8-9m/s.

Im therefore heavily consodering to by a new kite, and looking at the HQ Montana 9, but I'm a bit curious as it is labeles internediate/expert. Is it difficult to handle or is it the power that makes it difficult to control?

Basicly, would it be a good choice for a pretty much noob?

corbett
Very Frequent Poster
Gear: Many

Re: HQ montana 9 for beginners?

Postby corbett » Fri Jun 03, 2016 4:41 pm

I own Montana 5,6 and 7 series kites, not the 9 I'm afraid but it won't be so much different. I do not own the 9 because they are not discounted yet.

They are very high lift kites and have real lofting potential. When the wind is onshore at a beach, they're great fun and easy to fly and jump with. Whilst snowkiting in mountains, I feel like I'm in danger of being lofted all the time because of the gusty winds. They have good depower but become unstable when depowered as all open cells do.

If you don't want to jump or you're flying in anything other than onshore winds at a beach, buy an Apexx. The Ozone open cell kites are unreliable because the plastic things keep on popping off.

Germany still has some good deals on open cell kites. I picked up 2 Montana kites from Germany recently for a cracking price. No one buys open cell kites anymore, so don't pay anywhere near RRP.

I don't believe any kite has a cult following but the Montana does with me :D but only in an onshore wind.