Style: Freeride
Gear: Naish Pivot, Blade Trigger, Flysurfer Peak4 kites
RRD and Liquid Force boards
Slingshot Hydrofoil
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0

Where to go for more LEI-like depower?

Postby MartinO » Fri Feb 14, 2020 3:55 pm

I recently bought a HQ4 Apex 8m and tried it last weekend on snow with skis. It was guite gusty and from time to time strong winds. I have been kiting on water and snow with LEI:s for almost 20 years and I consider myself to be a very experienced kiter. Not advanced in terms of manouvers and tricks, but I feel very secure in pretty much all conditions on water, from lightwind hydrofoiling to nuking winds in waves. I have also snow kited every year atleast for the last 15 years and have never gotten into trouble. Until now.

The wind was pretty strong last weekend, but by no means challenging if I have had something like a Naish Pivot 9 that I normally use. With the Apex kite I felt that I was almost back on a old 4-line C-kite in the early 2000:s with basically no depower. The Apex was folding in half in lulls every now and then and powered back up again to throw me off the skis and then collapsed again, then powered up another time and dragged me a far bit and so on. Overall a pretty scary experience and some real dangerous crashes. Sure, the wind was gusty, but I don´t think I would have even considered it to be difficult with my LEI:s. I have never experienced anything like it with a LEI. Ever. Not even close. I haven´t had one single kite control incident really in 20 years.