Weight: 70
Gear: Nothing yet, trying to learn.
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

Using LEI kites on land

Postby Taron » Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:56 pm

tldr: can you use an LEI kite on land?

Hi guys!

I'm a complete newbie that recently started his first lessons to learn kitesurfing and so far I did 2 lessons and I still love it. One of the few changes in my life --other than those lessons-- are that I am moving further away from the water into the land without any place to kitesurf. Since I go skiing every winter I already looked a bit into snowkiting and this feels like the perfect option. Shortly after looking into that (since I also don't live near mountains) I looked into landboarding and that got my attention. This combination would be perfect since I can do landboarding at home, snowkiting while going to the mountains and kitesurfing when going to the beach.

Now the question, since I am a beginner and buying gear for all 3 things is expensive enough already, could I save some money by buying a good LEI kite and use this one on land as well? I did a bit of googling and it isn't talked about a lot but I think it is possible, but I am not sure if this is the right way to go.

That being said, since I am asking questions here anyways I'll add a few more:
1) Assuming this is possible, what is a good size to buy that can be used on land and on the water? I am personally thinking about 10m if possible. But I do know that land requires a smaller kite and I don't plan on ending up in the hospital soon, so maybe I should buy 2 different sizes.
2) Are there any things I should look for when buying an LEI kite that I want to use on land as well?
3) Is there a website where you are able to find land and/or snow kiter communities? Would be fun to meet up with a few people and get in real life tips as a noobie ^^ (I am in The Netherlands)

Thank you all for your time! 🤞🏻

Bille
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Lake Mohave
Gear: Ozone Edge