Local Beach: Riviera Maya, Mexico
Favorite Beaches: Isla Blanca, Mexico
Gear: Cabrinha
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

2016 Cabrinha pads and fins problems + short review

Postby Geko » Thu Apr 21, 2016 8:52 pm

I am new here but not a troll. I have been looking for 2016 Cabrinha gear reviews and there are not that many, so I decided to post some impressions and ask a few things.
I have been riding since 2001 and have owned a number of Cabrinha kites and boards over the years but this year I decided to treat myself with new boards and kites. I got an 8m and 11m Switchblade, a 15m Contra and Stylus and Spectrum boards. The kites are absolutely fantastic - very smooth, forbidding, amazing build - nothing to complain about. The boards themselves seem really great too. However the fins, handles and the new pads are very bad.

Fins

I am used to the green fiberglass fins and opaque white handles which were pretty indestructible in the past. However to my surprise these boards came with transparent plastic fins and handles which look as if made of material more suitable for plastic kitchenware. Without any overtightening all fins developed tiny cracks along the brass inserts on the second day. They have still not shattered, but this is quite unacceptable. The upper plastic "washers" have almost disintegrated too after a week of riding. The handles are still fine and crack free, but being made of the same plastic I have no unrealistic hopes. It will crack too - sooner or later. And I repeat, I never overtighten. From what I read I understand that these transparent fins have been in use for a couple of years but I am genuinely surprised that there are not a ton of negative reviews about them. Folks, examine closely your fins along the inserts. Even if they stay on, you will find them cracked.

H1 Bindings