Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Beginner kitesurfer holiday Feb 2013 - Where to go?

Forum for kitesurfers
alybee
Rare Poster
Local Beach: lancing, worthing
Gear: 6m 9m
Brand Affiliation: North
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Beginner kitesurfer holiday Feb 2013 - Where to go?

Postby alybee » Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:57 pm

Hi guys

I've had a good look at this forum and it has lots of info, but I'm wondering if anyone can help me? I've got 5 weeks holiday, all of Feb til 8th March 2013. I've seen the post about the best places to go in Feb but I'm a beginner, at body dragging stage at the moment, so I think my list of requirements are a little bit different from all you experienced guys! I have all my own kit, a 6m and 9m kite and I'm looking for somewhere kind of warmish with flatish water and cheapish (ie not an all inclusive spa hotel in the Caribbean!) I will need to take a few lessons from a school to progress onto the board. A fellow kitesurfer went to Mui Ne and said there were too many fishing nets tripping kitesurfers up and it was pretty choppy for a beginner. I don't think the wind is strong enough in Feb in Naqb (it didn't make the Feb list!), maybe someone can prove me wrong? How about Cancun/Cozumel/Tullum, Hua Hin, Florida? Someones post said there wasn't any flat water in La Ventana and it rained in Borocay in Feb!!!

I realise that no place is perfect and you can't guarantee the wind but I really want to crack it and practice as much as I can.

I'd appreciate any information you can give me as the more I read the more confused I get!! Many thanks. By the way I'm on the South Coast of England which is amazing but way too cold in the Winter and I love travelling!!

Hellen
Rare Poster
Local Beach: dahab, egypt
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

Re: Beginner kitesurfer holiday Feb 2013 - Where to go?

Postby Hellen » Wed Dec 12, 2012 11:03 am

Hi,